- The Finer Things in Life - http://amysfinerthings.com -

Write to Someone {A Fresh Start}

Posted By Amy On February 1, 2013 @ 10:17 am In Intentional Living | 5 Comments

{ Fresh Start Series:  Early to Bed, Early to Rise [3] ~ Get Some Help [4] ~ Try Something New [5] ~ Say Yes! [6] ~ Preparing [7] for Pregnancy [7]Better Late Than Never [8] ~ Pick Five [9] ~ Make Time for Family Fun [10] ~ Breathe [11] ~ The Most Important Meal [12] Make a (Menu) Plan [13] ~ Get Moving [14] ~ The Family Dinner [15] ~ Lighten Up [16] ~ Go to Bed With a Clean Slate [17] ~ Just Say No [18] ~ Use It Up [19] ~ Unplug [20] ~ Do Over [21] ~  Hydrate [22]~ Smile [23] ~  Snack Smart [24] ~ First, Gratitude [25] }

A Fresh Start ~  from AmysFinerThings.com

The speed of email and instant messages is pretty alluring.  It’s convenient.  I use it and I like it. If I had the opportunity, I think I’d even enjoy texting.  But you know what I miss?

The written word.  Unique handwriting on paper.  Doodles.   Cards in the mail just because.

This year I want to write more.

In order to make it happen, it can’t be a burden.  Writing doesn’t have to be time consuming, and you don’t always even need a stamp.  Some of the most important people in my life, the ones who deserve my handwriting, live right under my own roof.

Ideas for the written word.

  • Keep post-it notes handy to tag on pillows, back packs, and tuck into wallets.
  • A variety of pen colors is fun, and who says you need a pen, anyway?  Lipstick writes well on a mirror… ;)
  • Mail one card or letter (it can be short!) of encouragement each week.  Or month.  I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like receiving personal mail.
  • Share a mother/daughter journal or journal with your spouse.  One person writes a note and leaves the journal for the other person to find.  Take turns passing the journal back and forth.
  • Bring back the thank you note!  (PS ~ My kids have their Christmas thank yous written.  I found them when I cleaned my “pile” table the other day.  Oy!)
  • Invest in a set of sympathy cards and maybe even some care/concern cards (DaySpring has beautiful sets on clearance [26] ~ 12 cards for $2.49) so you’re prepared when a need arises.  I know if I don’t have something on hand and have to put it on a list for “later”, later may never happen.
  • Tuck a fun card under a friends’ windshield wiper.

Dayspring Cards

Technology is a fascinating tool, but it cannot replace the power of the written word.   Do you have any desire to write more this year?  How will you make it happen?


Article printed from The Finer Things in Life: http://amysfinerthings.com

URL to article: http://amysfinerthings.com/write-to-someone-a-fresh-start

URLs in this post:

[1] via RSS: http://feeds.feedburner.com/TheFinerThingsInLife

[2] via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=TheFinerThingsInLife

[3] Early to Bed, Early to Rise: http://amysfinerthings.com/early-to-bed-early-to-rise-a-fresh-start

[4] Get Some Help: http://amysfinerthings.com/i-need-some-help-a-fresh-start

[5] Try Something New: http://amysfinerthings.com/try-something-new-a-fresh-start

[6] Say Yes!: http://amysfinerthings.com/say-yes-a-fresh-start

[7] Preparing: http://amysfinerthings.com/preparing-for-pregnancy-guest-post-a-fresh-start

[8] Better Late Than Never: http://amysfinerthings.com/better-late-than-never-a-fresh-start

[9] Pick Five: http://amysfinerthings.com/pick-five-a-fresh-start

[10] Make Time for Family Fun: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-time-for-family-fun-with-the-globiefamily-a-fresh-start

[11] Breathe: http://amysfinerthings.com/breathe-a-fresh-start

[12] The Most Important Meal: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-most-important-meal-a-fresh-start

[13] Make a (Menu) Plan: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-a-menu-plan-a-fresh-start

[14] Get Moving: http://amysfinerthings.com/get-moving-a-fresh-start

[15] The Family Dinner: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-family-dinner-finer-things-friday-a-fresh-start

[16] Lighten Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/lighten-up-a-fresh-start

[17] Go to Bed With a Clean Slate: http://amysfinerthings.com/go-to-bed-with-a-clean-slate-a-fresh-start

[18] Just Say No: http://amysfinerthings.com/just-say-no-a-fresh-start

[19] Use It Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/use-it-up-a-fresh-start-meal-plan

[20] Unplug: http://amysfinerthings.com/unplug-a-fresh-start

[21] Do Over: http://amysfinerthings.com/do-over-a-fresh-start

[22] Hydrate : http://amysfinerthings.com/hydrate-a-fresh-start

[23] Smile: http://amysfinerthings.com/smile-a-fresh-start

[24] Snack Smart: http://amysfinerthings.com/naturebox-snack-smart-in-the-new-year

[25] First, Gratitude: http://amysfinerthings.com/first-gratitude-a-fresh-start

[26] DaySpring has beautiful sets on clearance: http://www.tkqlhce.com/click-3715431-11146548

Copyright © 2011 The Finer Things in Life. All rights reserved.