- The Finer Things in Life - http://amysfinerthings.com -

Try Something New {A Fresh Start}

Posted By Amy On January 29, 2013 @ 1:00 pm In Healthy Habits,Intentional Living | No Comments

{ Fresh Start Series: Say Yes! [3] ~ Preparing [4] for Pregnancy [4]Better Late Than Never [5] ~ Pick Five [6] ~ Make Time for Family Fun [7] ~ Breathe [8] ~ The Most Important Meal [9] Make a (Menu) Plan [10] ~ Get Moving [11] ~ The Family Dinner [12] ~ Lighten Up [13] ~ Go to Bed With a Clean Slate [14] ~ Just Say No [15] ~ Use It Up [16] ~ Unplug [17] ~ Do Over [18] ~  Hydrate [19]~ Smile [20] ~  Snack Smart [21] ~ First, Gratitude [22] }

A Fresh Start ~  from AmysFinerThings.com

“Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” ~ Albert Einstein

He’s right, you know.  Hanging a fresh calendar brings to mind change.  Improvement.  Dreams.  But if we keep doing the same things the same way, change will be hard to come by!

I struggle with this one, because I feel like the daily dishes and diapers (and floors and laundry…) get in the way of changes I want and need to make. Truth?  Those are just excuses.  (Good ones! but still.)

There is absolutely no reason why you and I couldn’t try something new this year!  Whether it be diving headlong into dream that you’ve held in your heart for years or simply trying a new recipe for your dinner rotation, let’s do this!

Last fall I attended a Zumba toning class for the first time.  That was a stretch for me because I am the poster child for “white girls can’t dance.”  I figured that since the class was at 5:30 in the morning, everyone would be concerned about waking up and not paying attention to my clutziness anyway, right?  I had a blast.  The class gave me confidence, energy, and toned my pregnancy-weary muscles quickly.

What new thing would make a difference in your life right now?

Perhaps you’ve always thought writing down goals, or a schedule, or even a to-do list is a waste of time.  Give it a try!  Not a budgeter?  See what happens when you tell your money where to go for a month.  Prefer to pay with a credit card?  See if switching to cash for a while might save you some green.

Maybe you’re not feeling as healthy and energetic as you’d like.  Try a new exercise, or new exercise routine.  Switch out your carb-loaded bagel for a high protein breakfast and see if that helps.  Drink more water!  A few weeks ago I was browsing marked-down produce and came across a “kale salad with toasted (something) vinaigrette.”  Feeling adventurous, I tossed it in my cart.  After one bowl I didn’t even offer it to the rest of the family.  Mine!  It’s all mine!  So yummy!  (You just never know!)

If you’re feeling the need for a change in your life, quit doing everything the same!  Try something new, and maybe I’ll ride along with you.  ;)  So, what should we do?!

 

 


Article printed from The Finer Things in Life: http://amysfinerthings.com

URL to article: http://amysfinerthings.com/try-something-new-a-fresh-start

URLs in this post:

[1] via RSS: http://feeds.feedburner.com/TheFinerThingsInLife

[2] via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=TheFinerThingsInLife

[3] Say Yes!: http://amysfinerthings.com/say-yes-a-fresh-start

[4] Preparing: http://amysfinerthings.com/preparing-for-pregnancy-guest-post-a-fresh-start

[5] Better Late Than Never: http://amysfinerthings.com/better-late-than-never-a-fresh-start

[6] Pick Five: http://amysfinerthings.com/pick-five-a-fresh-start

[7] Make Time for Family Fun: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-time-for-family-fun-with-the-globiefamily-a-fresh-start

[8] Breathe: http://amysfinerthings.com/breathe-a-fresh-start

[9] The Most Important Meal: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-most-important-meal-a-fresh-start

[10] Make a (Menu) Plan: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-a-menu-plan-a-fresh-start

[11] Get Moving: http://amysfinerthings.com/get-moving-a-fresh-start

[12] The Family Dinner: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-family-dinner-finer-things-friday-a-fresh-start

[13] Lighten Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/lighten-up-a-fresh-start

[14] Go to Bed With a Clean Slate: http://amysfinerthings.com/go-to-bed-with-a-clean-slate-a-fresh-start

[15] Just Say No: http://amysfinerthings.com/just-say-no-a-fresh-start

[16] Use It Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/use-it-up-a-fresh-start-meal-plan

[17] Unplug: http://amysfinerthings.com/unplug-a-fresh-start

[18] Do Over: http://amysfinerthings.com/do-over-a-fresh-start

[19] Hydrate : http://amysfinerthings.com/hydrate-a-fresh-start

[20] Smile: http://amysfinerthings.com/smile-a-fresh-start

[21] Snack Smart: http://amysfinerthings.com/naturebox-snack-smart-in-the-new-year

[22] First, Gratitude: http://amysfinerthings.com/first-gratitude-a-fresh-start

Copyright © 2011 The Finer Things in Life. All rights reserved.