- The Finer Things in Life - http://amysfinerthings.com -

Say Yes! {A Fresh Start}

Posted By Amy On January 28, 2013 @ 10:30 am In Intentional Living | 4 Comments

I believe I owe you one.  Or five.  Who’s counting?!  Last week was not a stellar blogging week for me, so the Fresh Start series will likely extend right into February.  Hang in there!  I have a gift for everyone at the end!

A Fresh Start ~  from AmysFinerThings.com

{ Fresh Start Series: Preparing [3] for Pregnancy [3]Better Late Than Never [4] ~ Pick Five [5] ~ Make Time for Family Fun [6] ~ Breathe [7] ~ The Most Important Meal [8] Make a (Menu) Plan [9] ~ Get Moving [10] ~ The Family Dinner [11] ~ Lighten Up [12] ~ Go to Bed With a Clean Slate [13] ~ Just Say No [14] ~ Use It Up [15] ~ Unplug [16] ~ Do Over [17] ~  Hydrate [18]~ Smile [19] ~  Snack Smart [20] ~ First, Gratitude [21] }

Not long ago I was preaching “Just Say No!” [14]  You get more done.  Family life is more peaceful.  You save both money and sanity.  No is a good thing.

The best reason to say no, though, is so that you can say YES.

Yes, really!

Every time we say no to one thing, even a good thing, we are saying yes to something else.

Our goal in saying no is not the “No,” it’s the (hopefully better!) “Yes”!  Better is different for all of us, and will change over time.

Right now we say Yes! to supper at home and children in bed on time (amen, right?!) most nights.

We say Yes! to planning ahead and eliminating multiple trips to town so that we can go to our children’s ballgames and visit family on the weekends.

We say Yes! to building our savings account for the expected [22], declaring, “Yes!  We can pay for this even if it stinks!” (think braces, new plumbing, etc.)

We say Yes! to volunteer time that doesn’t burden the family.  Right now (for me) that is a once a month, 2 1/2 hour library duty and Azure drop [23] coordinating.

No, I can’t work the bake sale all day on Saturday, but Yes! I can make three pans of cinnamon rolls. [24]  You bet’cha!

Saying No doesn’t have to be a downer.  It doesn’t make you a recluse or a bad person.  It doesn’t mean you can’t spend any money on anything fun ever.  Saying No is merely a gateway to your better Yes!

As a mom to many little people, it’s important that I say yes right now to the finger paint messes, storytime, and picnics on 70° January days.  We must free up our after school commitments in order to say yes! to driveway basketball games with friends, zombie tag (what in the world?!) in the yard, and spontaneous walks to the park.  For us, that’s the good stuff.  That’s our sweet spot right now.

Perhaps you’re in a new baby season where you need to say yes! to being at home most of the time.  Maybe you have a child ready to go to college and you need to say yes! to significant savings for the next few months.  Your children might all be at the “perfect travel age” (whatever that is!) and you want to say yes! to saving for a real vacation.

Don’t be afraid of No.  It will get you to your Yes!

What are you saying Yes! to today? (I believe I’ll go say yes to a clean(er) house…)

 

 


Article printed from The Finer Things in Life: http://amysfinerthings.com

URL to article: http://amysfinerthings.com/say-yes-a-fresh-start

URLs in this post:

[1] via RSS: http://feeds.feedburner.com/TheFinerThingsInLife

[2] via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=TheFinerThingsInLife

[3] Preparing: http://amysfinerthings.com/preparing-for-pregnancy-guest-post-a-fresh-start

[4] Better Late Than Never: http://amysfinerthings.com/better-late-than-never-a-fresh-start

[5] Pick Five: http://amysfinerthings.com/pick-five-a-fresh-start

[6] Make Time for Family Fun: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-time-for-family-fun-with-the-globiefamily-a-fresh-start

[7] Breathe: http://amysfinerthings.com/breathe-a-fresh-start

[8] The Most Important Meal: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-most-important-meal-a-fresh-start

[9] Make a (Menu) Plan: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-a-menu-plan-a-fresh-start

[10] Get Moving: http://amysfinerthings.com/get-moving-a-fresh-start

[11] The Family Dinner: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-family-dinner-finer-things-friday-a-fresh-start

[12] Lighten Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/lighten-up-a-fresh-start

[13] Go to Bed With a Clean Slate: http://amysfinerthings.com/go-to-bed-with-a-clean-slate-a-fresh-start

[14] Just Say No: http://amysfinerthings.com/just-say-no-a-fresh-start

[15] Use It Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/use-it-up-a-fresh-start-meal-plan

[16] Unplug: http://amysfinerthings.com/unplug-a-fresh-start

[17] Do Over: http://amysfinerthings.com/do-over-a-fresh-start

[18] Hydrate : http://amysfinerthings.com/hydrate-a-fresh-start

[19] Smile: http://amysfinerthings.com/smile-a-fresh-start

[20] Snack Smart: http://amysfinerthings.com/naturebox-snack-smart-in-the-new-year

[21] First, Gratitude: http://amysfinerthings.com/first-gratitude-a-fresh-start

[22] the expected: http://amysfinerthings.com/expect-the-expected

[23] Azure drop: http://www.azurestandard.com/

[24] cinnamon rolls.: http://amysfinerthings.com/moms-cinnamon-rolls

Copyright © 2011 The Finer Things in Life. All rights reserved.