- The Finer Things in Life - http://amysfinerthings.com -

Just Do the Next Thing {A Fresh Start}

Posted By Amy On February 6, 2013 @ 9:49 am In Home Management,Intentional Living | 15 Comments

{ Fresh Start Series: Action Trumps Intention [3] ~ The Mom Voice [4] ~  Early to Bed, Early to Rise [5] ~ Get Some Help [6] ~ Try Something New [7] ~ Say Yes! [8] ~ Preparing [9] for Pregnancy [9]Better Late Than Never [10] ~ Pick Five [11] ~ Make Time for Family Fun [12] ~ Breathe [13] ~ The Most Important Meal [14] Make a (Menu) Plan [15] ~ Get Moving [16] ~ The Family Dinner [17] ~ Lighten Up [18] ~ Go to Bed With a Clean Slate [19] ~ Just Say No [20] ~ Use It Up [21] ~ Unplug [22] ~ Do Over [23] ~  Hydrate [24]~ Smile [25] ~  Snack Smart [26] ~ First, Gratitude [27] }

A Fresh Start ~  from AmysFinerThings.com

Sometimes things don’t go as planned.  Sometimes the toddler wakes up when you do, soaked through and poopy.  And then while you’re scrambling to make breakfast for the family, he poops again.  In the bathtub. 

Sometimes the to-do list is buried in the reality of the day before 8:00.

laundry

Do the next thing.

It’s tempting sometimes to throw in the towel on a day before the sun is even overhead.  Don’t!  The day can be redeemed.  The best laid plans?  They may have to be pushed aside.  Focus on the immediate, and do the next thing [28]

Keep your attitude in check.

If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.  ‘Tis true!  My kids and my husband would much rather have a happy mom, sandwiches for supper, and a messy house than a pristine house, a gourmet supper, and a stressed-out, grumpy mom.  Ick.

Don’t let it get to you!  Turn on some music, tickle some baby toes, and keep moving.  Pare down to the basics today, and get happy.

Embrace the Ta-Done! List.

To-do list overwhelming?  Can’t even find it in the piles?  ;)  Scrap it!  The Ta-Done! list is more fun and rewarding, anyway.

ecard

You may feel like you’re spinning your wheels, when in reality, the important things are getting done.  Poop cleaned up, sheets washed, baby’s diaper changed, breakfast made… Ta-Done!  Write tasks down as you go, and be proud of what is accomplished today!

The days are long, but the years are short.  Don’t let reality doom your well-planned day.  Redeem it, and do the next thing!


Article printed from The Finer Things in Life: http://amysfinerthings.com

URL to article: http://amysfinerthings.com/just-do-the-next-thing-a-fresh-start

URLs in this post:

[1] via RSS: http://feeds.feedburner.com/TheFinerThingsInLife

[2] via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=TheFinerThingsInLife

[3] Action Trumps Intention: http://amysfinerthings.com/action-always-trumps-intention-a-fresh-start

[4] The Mom Voice: http://amysfinerthings.com/refining-my-mom-voice-a-fresh-start

[5] Early to Bed, Early to Rise: http://amysfinerthings.com/early-to-bed-early-to-rise-a-fresh-start

[6] Get Some Help: http://amysfinerthings.com/i-need-some-help-a-fresh-start

[7] Try Something New: http://amysfinerthings.com/try-something-new-a-fresh-start

[8] Say Yes!: http://amysfinerthings.com/say-yes-a-fresh-start

[9] Preparing: http://amysfinerthings.com/preparing-for-pregnancy-guest-post-a-fresh-start

[10] Better Late Than Never: http://amysfinerthings.com/better-late-than-never-a-fresh-start

[11] Pick Five: http://amysfinerthings.com/pick-five-a-fresh-start

[12] Make Time for Family Fun: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-time-for-family-fun-with-the-globiefamily-a-fresh-start

[13] Breathe: http://amysfinerthings.com/breathe-a-fresh-start

[14] The Most Important Meal: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-most-important-meal-a-fresh-start

[15] Make a (Menu) Plan: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-a-menu-plan-a-fresh-start

[16] Get Moving: http://amysfinerthings.com/get-moving-a-fresh-start

[17] The Family Dinner: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-family-dinner-finer-things-friday-a-fresh-start

[18] Lighten Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/lighten-up-a-fresh-start

[19] Go to Bed With a Clean Slate: http://amysfinerthings.com/go-to-bed-with-a-clean-slate-a-fresh-start

[20] Just Say No: http://amysfinerthings.com/just-say-no-a-fresh-start

[21] Use It Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/use-it-up-a-fresh-start-meal-plan

[22] Unplug: http://amysfinerthings.com/unplug-a-fresh-start

[23] Do Over: http://amysfinerthings.com/do-over-a-fresh-start

[24] Hydrate : http://amysfinerthings.com/hydrate-a-fresh-start

[25] Smile: http://amysfinerthings.com/smile-a-fresh-start

[26] Snack Smart: http://amysfinerthings.com/naturebox-snack-smart-in-the-new-year

[27] First, Gratitude: http://amysfinerthings.com/first-gratitude-a-fresh-start

[28] do the next thing: http://amysfinerthings.com/do-the-next-thing-get-it-together-day-8

Copyright © 2011 The Finer Things in Life. All rights reserved.