- The Finer Things in Life - http://amysfinerthings.com -

Date Night {A Fresh Start}

Posted By Amy On January 22, 2013 @ 4:00 pm In Family Life,Marriage | 14 Comments

***Nothing like a busy weekend followed by a knock-me-to-my-knees sinus infection to slow things down on the blog.  My apologies!***

{ Fresh Start Series:  Better Late Than Never [3] ~ Pick Five [4] ~ Make Time for Family Fun [5] ~ Breathe [6] ~ The Most Important Meal [7] Make a (Menu) Plan [8] ~ Get Moving [9] ~ The Family Dinner [10] ~ Lighten Up [11] ~ Go to Bed With a Clean Slate [12] ~ Just Say No [13] ~ Use It Up [14] ~ Unplug [15] ~ Do Over [16] ~  Hydrate [17]~ Smile [18] ~  Snack Smart [19] ~ First, Gratitude [20] }

A Fresh Start ~  from AmysFinerThings.com

I just want you to know upfront that I am most certainly preaching to myself with this one.  We don’t get out much.  There is precious little time for just the two of us, especially with a nursing infant hanging around.

We did take a weekend to ourselves last summer before Miss 5 arrived on the scene, and there’s always this:

prom1

We do get to attend the high school prom every year.  That counts, right?!

I’m actually not an advocate for the weekly (or even monthly) date night “out on the town.”  If it’s worth it to you, by all means, go for it!  For us, though, between the expense and hassle of securing childcare and the scheduling of the night and the expense of eating out and whatever event or whatnot… well, that’s just not worth it for us right now, and we’re totally okay with that!

Here’s the thing, though:  Date night doesn’t have to be out on the town, and it most certainly doesn’t have to cost anything!

My husband too often gets the “leftovers” of the day, if there’s anything left at all.  That’s pitiful, on my part, because he’s the most important person in my life.  This ship would be sunk without him.

Lucky for me, my guy is easy to please.  Hand him a favorite dessert after the kids go to bed and watch a favorite show or game together?  He’s happy.  We also enjoy playing card games together, though that is certainly easier without a grabby baby around.  Truth?  It doesn’t matter what we do as long as he has my full attention for a spell.  That means the world to him, to know that he’s a priority, and I plan to make that happen more.

Dear Kansas Friends, listen up!

love letters

I was thrilled to recently learn of a new (to me) program called Love Letters from Kansas [21].   Love Letters From Kansas connects married, engaged, dating and single individuals to relationship education workshops and online resources.  Basically, their mission is to strengthen relationships.  I love that!

Right now they are hosting a date night giveaway on Facebook. [22]

This date night giveaway contest invites dating, engaged and married couples to upload a photo of their relationship – a photo of themselves, a location that’s particularly meaningful to them as a couple, a love note (post it, text message or letter), etc. Contestants are then asked to explain in the photo caption why they deserve to win the date night giveaway. The submission period ends on Valentine’s Day 2013 and will be followed by a public vote to determine the winner. Catholic Charities of Kansas will distribute a $125 gift card to a Kansas-based restaurant of the winner’s choice.

The only requirement is that you be from Kansas.  So, Kansas friends, get those photos uploaded!  And non-Kansas friends… vote for me!  ;)  (Really, though, what a fun surprise that would be for date night!)

Is date night in or out a priority in your home right now?  How do you make it so? 


Article printed from The Finer Things in Life: http://amysfinerthings.com

URL to article: http://amysfinerthings.com/date-night-a-fresh-start

URLs in this post:

[1] via RSS: http://feeds.feedburner.com/TheFinerThingsInLife

[2] via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=TheFinerThingsInLife

[3] Better Late Than Never: http://amysfinerthings.com/better-late-than-never-a-fresh-start

[4] Pick Five: http://amysfinerthings.com/pick-five-a-fresh-start

[5] Make Time for Family Fun: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-time-for-family-fun-with-the-globiefamily-a-fresh-start

[6] Breathe: http://amysfinerthings.com/breathe-a-fresh-start

[7] The Most Important Meal: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-most-important-meal-a-fresh-start

[8] Make a (Menu) Plan: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-a-menu-plan-a-fresh-start

[9] Get Moving: http://amysfinerthings.com/get-moving-a-fresh-start

[10] The Family Dinner: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-family-dinner-finer-things-friday-a-fresh-start

[11] Lighten Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/lighten-up-a-fresh-start

[12] Go to Bed With a Clean Slate: http://amysfinerthings.com/go-to-bed-with-a-clean-slate-a-fresh-start

[13] Just Say No: http://amysfinerthings.com/just-say-no-a-fresh-start

[14] Use It Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/use-it-up-a-fresh-start-meal-plan

[15] Unplug: http://amysfinerthings.com/unplug-a-fresh-start

[16] Do Over: http://amysfinerthings.com/do-over-a-fresh-start

[17] Hydrate : http://amysfinerthings.com/hydrate-a-fresh-start

[18] Smile: http://amysfinerthings.com/smile-a-fresh-start

[19] Snack Smart: http://amysfinerthings.com/naturebox-snack-smart-in-the-new-year

[20] First, Gratitude: http://amysfinerthings.com/first-gratitude-a-fresh-start

[21] Love Letters from Kansas: http://www.kansasloveletters.com/

[22] date night giveaway on Facebook.: https://www.facebook.com/KSLoveLetters

Copyright © 2011 The Finer Things in Life. All rights reserved.