- The Finer Things in Life - http://amysfinerthings.com -

Action Always Trumps Intention {A Fresh Start}

Posted By Amy On February 4, 2013 @ 11:27 pm In Intentional Living | 10 Comments

{ Fresh Start Series: The Mom Voice [3] ~  Early to Bed, Early to Rise [4] ~ Get Some Help [5] ~ Try Something New [6] ~ Say Yes! [7] ~ Preparing [8] for Pregnancy [8]Better Late Than Never [9] ~ Pick Five [10] ~ Make Time for Family Fun [11] ~ Breathe [12] ~ The Most Important Meal [13] Make a (Menu) Plan [14] ~ Get Moving [15] ~ The Family Dinner [16] ~ Lighten Up [17] ~ Go to Bed With a Clean Slate [18] ~ Just Say No [19] ~ Use It Up [20] ~ Unplug [21] ~ Do Over [22] ~  Hydrate [23]~ Smile [24] ~  Snack Smart [25] ~ First, Gratitude [26] }

A Fresh Start ~  from AmysFinerThings.com

Do something.

Today I sent a birthday card to someone I don’t know.  Someone who is suffering a terminal illness and whose wife wanted to shower him with the blessing of cards for his birthday.

Don’t be impressed.  This isn’t my norm.  My default is to think I should send the card (or make the phone call, or bake the cookies for the neighbor, or write the thank you to the teacher, or plan a fun craft for the kids, or write down a list of attainable goals) and then never follow through.

I am the Queen of Good Intentions. [27]   <————- And that post right there says the same thing I intend to say again.  Old habits die hard. 

It doesn’t matter what I think.  What matters is what I do.  Plans are no good without execution.  I know there are countless resources that will help me plan my routine, my budget, my time.  Books and blogs that will show me how to clean, how to cook, how to be hospitable.

None of that is a bad thing, but it’s only a good thing if I move beyond thinking about it and toward action.  Don’t wait for perfection, friends.  Don’t wait for the right time.  Don’t wait until you have two uninterrupted hours.  Don’t wait until your floors are swept and your dishes are done.  Don’t wait until you have the perfect coordinating color.

Whatever it is that you’ve been intending to do?  Whatever is in your head and on your heart to do for a friend?  Whatever task needs to be completed?  Do it.

Action always trumps intention.

What intention can you turn into action today?

 


Article printed from The Finer Things in Life: http://amysfinerthings.com

URL to article: http://amysfinerthings.com/action-always-trumps-intention-a-fresh-start

URLs in this post:

[1] via RSS: http://feeds.feedburner.com/TheFinerThingsInLife

[2] via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=TheFinerThingsInLife

[3] The Mom Voice: http://amysfinerthings.com/refining-my-mom-voice-a-fresh-start

[4] Early to Bed, Early to Rise: http://amysfinerthings.com/early-to-bed-early-to-rise-a-fresh-start

[5] Get Some Help: http://amysfinerthings.com/i-need-some-help-a-fresh-start

[6] Try Something New: http://amysfinerthings.com/try-something-new-a-fresh-start

[7] Say Yes!: http://amysfinerthings.com/say-yes-a-fresh-start

[8] Preparing: http://amysfinerthings.com/preparing-for-pregnancy-guest-post-a-fresh-start

[9] Better Late Than Never: http://amysfinerthings.com/better-late-than-never-a-fresh-start

[10] Pick Five: http://amysfinerthings.com/pick-five-a-fresh-start

[11] Make Time for Family Fun: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-time-for-family-fun-with-the-globiefamily-a-fresh-start

[12] Breathe: http://amysfinerthings.com/breathe-a-fresh-start

[13] The Most Important Meal: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-most-important-meal-a-fresh-start

[14] Make a (Menu) Plan: http://amysfinerthings.com/make-a-menu-plan-a-fresh-start

[15] Get Moving: http://amysfinerthings.com/get-moving-a-fresh-start

[16] The Family Dinner: http://amysfinerthings.com/the-family-dinner-finer-things-friday-a-fresh-start

[17] Lighten Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/lighten-up-a-fresh-start

[18] Go to Bed With a Clean Slate: http://amysfinerthings.com/go-to-bed-with-a-clean-slate-a-fresh-start

[19] Just Say No: http://amysfinerthings.com/just-say-no-a-fresh-start

[20] Use It Up: http://amysfinerthings.com/use-it-up-a-fresh-start-meal-plan

[21] Unplug: http://amysfinerthings.com/unplug-a-fresh-start

[22] Do Over: http://amysfinerthings.com/do-over-a-fresh-start

[23] Hydrate : http://amysfinerthings.com/hydrate-a-fresh-start

[24] Smile: http://amysfinerthings.com/smile-a-fresh-start

[25] Snack Smart: http://amysfinerthings.com/naturebox-snack-smart-in-the-new-year

[26] First, Gratitude: http://amysfinerthings.com/first-gratitude-a-fresh-start

[27] Queen of Good Intentions.: http://amysfinerthings.com/its-not-the-thought-that-counts

Copyright © 2011 The Finer Things in Life. All rights reserved.